An image.
Home | The Paper | Subscribe | Contact Us
Tuesday, December 01, 2015
  • You are here:
  •  : 
  •  : 
  • letters to the editor
  • Tuesday, December 01, 2015 12:29 AM
    Dear Editor,  
    The framers of the Constitution recognized the potential for abuse of the new central government. Without proper checks and balances, it was feared that the central government would eventually subsume the states. Their solution was a bicameral legislature, establishing both a House of Representatives and a Senate. 
  • Tuesday, December 01, 2015 12:28 AM
    Dear Editor:
    We would like to thank all for their gifts, cards, phone calls, comments and visits for our 60th wedding anniversary. 
  • Saturday, November 28, 2015 1:03 AM

    Dear Editor,

    I have reviewed the proposed rate change for the electric service provided by CEL&P to the City of Crawfordsville.  While I do not like to pay any more than is necessary, my investigation into the justification for the most recent rate increase suggests that the request is reasonable and proper and I am willing to support such an increase.  
  • Saturday, November 28, 2015 1:03 AM

    Dear Editor,

    Imagine a society where prostitution were completely legalized.  The drug war has ended even.  Prostitutes work because they enjoy the job rather than getting a fix.
  • Monday, November 23, 2015 11:44 PM

    Dear Editor,

    Local elections are over.  Congratulations to the winning candidates.

    The local Republican Chair, John Pickerill, now has some free time and is once again advocating for the elimination of Montgomery County’s Economic Development organization, Indiana West Advantage.  In addition, Pickerill has proposed a lasseiz-faire (hands off) economic plan which is to actually have no plan, as a proposed solution to a problem that doesn’t exist.

  • Saturday, November 21, 2015 1:08 AM
    Dear Editor:
    On behalf of Dusk-to-Dawn Bereavement Services, I want to express much thanks and appreciation to all those who joined together to make our first annual Harvest Festival a great success. Together, we raised more than $1,250 to help provide much needed counseling services to those in our community who are suffering loss. 
  • Wednesday, November 18, 2015 2:00 AM
    Dear Editor:
    As schools across the state are reviewing the preliminary release of the 2014-2015 ISTEP+ results, we are finding that the percentage of students passing the exam has dropped as a result of Indiana’s botched system of standardized testing. 
  • Wednesday, November 18, 2015 1:49 AM
    Dear Editor,
    Last Wednesday my husband Marc and I boarded the new Iowa Pacific Hoosier State for a day trip to Chicago. 
  • Wednesday, November 18, 2015 1:48 AM
    Dear Editor:
    Pickerill’s a good guy, wrong, but a good guy. Mr. Timmons mentioned the G.O.P. County Chair says the government in Montgomery County is spending and has spent too much on economic development during the past two decades. In my opinion, this should not be hard to determine if economic development would be willing to reveal their accomplishments.
  • Friday, November 13, 2015 6:32 AM

    Dear Editor,

    After reading Mr. Guard’s letter of Nov. 5, I felt a need to comment. Hope I have the right. I live in the rural area and only have a high school education. Probably not a Fons’ qualification.


The Paper of Montgomery County,
a division of Sagamore News Media

101 W. Main Street, Suite 300
P.O. Box 272
Crawfordsville, Indiana 47933
(765) 361-0100
(765) 361-8888
(765) 361-5901
(765) 361-0100 Ext. 18
(765) 361-8888

Our app is now available!